LISD celebrates Board of Trustees

LISD celebrates school board recognition month
Posted on 01/21/2020
District News Release

Date: January 21, 2020

Lockhart ISD honors trustees for school board recognition month

LISD Board of Trustees

Lockhart ISD students, staff, and community members honored the LISD Board of Trustees for their service at the board meeting Tuesday. The celebration coincides with School Board Recognition Month, a time to celebrate the service of those who volunteer on the school board to ensure the district facilitates excellent learning experiences for students to grow and reach their full potential. 

Students from each campus made special presentations to each trustee at the meeting to thank them for the countless hours and intentional work to helping to build a legacy of excellence.

Board members include President Steve Johnson, Vice President Michael Wright, Secretary Tom Guyton, Brenda Spillmann, Carl Cisneros, Becky Lockhart, and Warren Burnett.  

The LISD Board is responsible for an annual budget of $62.7 million, over 6,200 students, 754 employees, and nine campuses.

“Lockhart ISD is fortunate to have a board fully committed and laser-focused on student growth and achievement,” said Superintendent of Schools Mark Estrada. “This is the same board who was the first in Texas to complete the eXcellence in Governance (XG) training, and they are now often asked to speak to other boards about the difference this training has made in leading the district to new heights. We are proud to have their guidance and grateful for their unwavering support for students and staff.” 

The recognition theme this year was “Launching the Next Generation.” Students presented baskets with rocket and space-themed artwork, thank you notes, as well as space-related treats like Moon Pies, Milky Way bars, and Starburst.  Board members took photos with student presenters in front of a large rocket ship constructed by PRIDE High School students. 

Student presenters included:

Jeremiah Espinoza - Lockhart High School
Porfirio Vazquez & Jose Maria Vazquez - Alma Brewer Strawn Elementary
Arika Allen - Lockhart Junior High School
Kaden Moebes - Clear Fork Elementary
Patrick Mendez & McKinsey Guyton- Bluebonnet Elementary
Kingston Metzler & Stella Royal - Navarro Elementary
Payton Schmidli & Wiley Toungate- Plum Creek Elementary
Owen Simpson & Ty McDonnell - PRIDE High School

# # #

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.