LISD Board honored at January meeting

LISD Board honored for School Board Recognition Month
Posted on 01/22/2019
District News Letterhead

Date:  January 22, 2019

LISD Board honored for school board recognition month

LISD Board honored by LISD students

The Lockhart Independent School District (LISD) School Board was honored at its regular meeting Tuesday night for their outstanding service in building a legacy of excellence for students and staff in LISD.

January is School Board Recognition Month. Across Texas, school districts celebrate the contributions of Board members, who carry tremendous responsibility in providing oversight and support to the school district, focused on making positive impact on student growth and achievement.

The LISD Board is comprised of President Steve Johnson, Vice President Michael Wright, Secretary Tom Guyton, and Trustees Brenda Spillmann, Carl Cisneros, Warren Burnett, and Becky Lockhart.

“We are fortunate in Lockhart ISD to have a Board that recognizes the direct impact it has on student achievement for Lockhart Lions and dedicates its focus to providing the support needed to help students thrive,” said Superintendent Mark Estrada. “Because of their high expectations for leadership, staff, and students, we strive daily to achieve 1.5 years growth for every student, and the Board’s decisions with policy, budget, and planning have a very direct impact on our success with those targets.”

“Planting seeds of success” was this year’s theme. Artists from schools across the district painted flower pots, which were presented to Board members along with a jacket embroidered with the district logo, a watering can with the district logo, gardening utensils, seeds, and a thank you card designed and signed by students.

Lockhart High School student Megan Rogers and Clear Fork Elementary student Mackenzie Mayfield did the presentation for President Johnson. Lockhart Junior High School student Emma Betancourt and Plum Creek Elementary student Ryan Garnett honored Vice President Wright. Bluebonnet Elementary students Santana Raye and Isabella Vasquez presented to Secretary Guyton. Navarro Elementary students Benjamin Gonzales, Giovani Gonzales, and Jennifer Gonzles did the presentation for Trustee Burnett. Pride High School students Marquisha McLaurin, Adonica Roland, and Kevin Lagunes honored Trustee Lockhart. Alma Brewer Strawn Elementary students Alex Rocha, Annalysia Rocha, Lola Castillo, Judah De La Cruz, and Addison De La Cruz made the presentation to Trustee Cisneros. Trustee Spillmann was unable to attend the meeting and will be honored at the February regular Board meeting.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.