LISD announces 2019 Teachers of the Year

LISD announces 2019 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 04/02/2019

District Letterhead

DATE: April 2, 2019

LISD announces 2019 Teachers of the Year

2019 Teachers of the Year Banner

Lockhart Independent School District administrators traveled to schools today to notify 2019 Teachers of the Year for each campus of their selection. As the team entered teachers’ classrooms to share the news, the reactions were a mixture of happy tears, total shock, and sheer joy. Students were also excited and proud to see their teachers honored in this way.

Teachers of the Year are nominated and voted upon by their campus peers. This makes the honor even more special, knowing their colleagues participated in their selection.

The winners are:

Jonathan Gutierrez Alma Brewer Strawn Elementary School

Karen Ochoa Plum Creek Elementary School

Pamela Pleasant Carver Early Education Center

Brandie Hurt Bluebonnet Elementary School

Nicky Lawrence Clear Fork Elementary School

Jonathon Sample Navarro Elementary School

Jeffrey Baker Lockhart Junior High School

Liz Rotzler Lockhart High School

“We are honored to celebrate a group of teachers who were selected by their peers for building a legacy of excellence and inspiring us all,” said Superintendent Mark Estrada. “While we are proud of and acknowledge the contributions of every LISD staff member, it is also important to lift up those who embody everything that we should strive for each day to ensure we are #LockhartLeading.”

Next, teachers will participate in an interview process as they are considered for the 2019 LISD District Elementary Teacher of the Year and LISD Secondary Teacher of the Year. Each of the teachers will be honored at the district’s end of year employee banquet. There, the district will announce who among them will serve as the LISD District Teachers of the Year, competing at the regional level with other school districts’ nominees.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.