Skip To Main Content

Lockhart ISD Celebrates Excellence at Annual Employee Banquet

Christina Courson


Date: May 06, 2022

Lockhart ISD Celebrates Excellence at Annual Employee Banquet


Lockhart Independent School District Board members, district leaders, campus administrators, staff, and community members honored outstanding employees at the LISD annual employee recognition banquet Thursday evening at Two Wishes Ranch in Lockhart.

Staff from across the district came together in fellowship to celebrate excellence. The rustic event venue on a 420-acre ranch provided an impressive space for the occasion. The wooden tables were topped by wooden containers filled with colorful floral arrangements, both designed by Lockhart High School students.  

After Superintendent Mark Estrada and Deputy Superintendent Kimberly Raymond welcomed guests, attendees enjoyed a Cinco de Mayo-themed dinner prepared by Chef Dedric Crenshaw. Then, Board President Michael Wright surprised Superintendent Estrada with a presentation of his 10-year service pin for a decade of leadership in Lockhart ISD.

Estrada and Wright

Photo by Adrian Gutierrez

Next, Raymond honored employees with 20 and 25 years of service with Lockhart ISD, followed by recognition of this year’s retirees. In the next portion of the evening, Executive Director of Communications and Community Services Christina Courson recognized the winners of the 2022 Lion’s Heart Award Winners, individuals nominated by peers and selected by leadership.

Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction Dr. Stephaine Camarillo honored the Spirit of 1.5 Champion Awards Winners. These honorees were selected by their principals for exemplifying the “Spirit of 1.5,” going above and beyond to ensure students are growing to their full potential. 
The evening concluded with Raymond honoring the 2021-2022 Campus Teachers of the Year. The deputy superintendent also announced the district teachers of the year. Plum Creek Elementary School’s Catherine Grimm is the 2021-2022 Elementary Teacher of the Year. Lockhart Junior High School’s Christopher Jennings is the 2021-2022 Secondary Teacher of the Year. Grimm and Jennings will advance to compete in the Regional Teachers of the Year Competition. 
“We are so happy to celebrate these outstanding employees who fully give of themselves every single day,” said Superintendent Estrada. “As you see all of the winners, you see the best examples of having a LockHeart for People, being Locked on Excellence, and UnLocking Potential in themselves and others. They are truly representative of what it means to be #LockhartLeading.” 
Below is a complete list of honorees.


20-Year Honorees (Alphabetical Order- Not all were in attendance for the photo)
Jeff Balandran
Maria Becerra
Tanya Gutierrez
Laura Hernandez
Guia Leath
Dolores Mendez
Jennifer Reed
Margie Rodriguez
Alma Santos
Kimberly Uhlig

25-Year Honorees
James Benner
Debbie Galmor
Keitha Hernandez
Deborah Hilton
Tina Ramirez

25 year service awards


2022 Retirees (Alphabetical Order- Not all were in attendance for the photo)
Louis Amaya
Deanne Franco
Debbie Galmor
Pamela “Renee” Haskins
Dennis Helms
Juanita Martinez
Shelly O’Donnell
Dr. Angelita Paxton
Kai Schnautz
Betty Walker Arnic


2021-2022 Lion’s Heart Award Winners
Child Nutrition Employee of the Year - Rocio O’Campo
Custodian of the Year - Lisa Borja
Instructional Paraprofessional of the Year - Lisa Mason
Maintenance Employee of the Year - Jeff Balandran
Office Paraprofessional of the Year - Beverly Pryor
Professional of the Year - Kelly Emadi
Substitute of the Year - Raegan Frey
Transportation Employee of the Year - Maria Lopez
LockHeart for People Lockstar of the Year - Javier Llamas
Locked on Excellence Lockstar of the Year - Katlin Stephens
UnLocking Potential Lockstar of the Year - Jenna DuBose
Lion’s Pride Award - Superintendent’s Choice - Corinne Yanez

Lion's Heart Award Winners


2021-2022 Spirit of 1.5 Champion Awards Winners
AB Strawn Elementary School - Edna Martinez
Bluebonnet Elementary School - Stephanie Gonzales
Carver Early Education Center - Melissa Messerly
Clear Fork Elementary School - Allyson Flinn
Navarro Elementary School - Caitlan Hayes-Marcks
Plum Creek Elementary School - Tyree Duboise
Lockhart Junior High School – Brandi Ellsworth
Lockhart High School - Victoria Joy
PRIDE High School - Patricia Page

1.5 winners

2021-2022 Campus Teachers of the Year
AB Strawn Elementary School - Rebecca Nguyen
Bluebonnet Elementary School - Ivonne Martinez
Carver Early Education Center - Elizabeth Gutierrez
Clear Fork Elementary School - Sara Allen
Navarro Elementary School - Patricia Lewandowski
Plum Creek Elementary School - Catherine Grimm
Lockhart Junior High School – Christopher Jennings
Lockhart High School - Duane Silkett

Elementary TOYS

2021-2022 LISD Teachers of the Year
Elementary Teacher of the Year - Catherine Grimm, Plum Creek Elementary School
Secondary Teacher of the Year - Christopher Jennings, Lockhart Junior High School

Grimm and Jennings